Skip to content

Our team

Tim Johnson image

Tim Johnson


Having been responsible initially for AEF’s planning and research work programme, Tim became Director in 1997 following the…

Cait Hewitt image

Cait Hewitt

Policy Director

With over ten years’ experience at AEF, Cait leads the organisation’s UK work programme and campaigns…

Deborah Lovatt image

Deborah Lovatt

Outreach Manager

Deborah joined AEF in 2016 in a new role designed both to strengthen our relationship with existing members and to…

Lizzie Harrocks image

Lizzie Harrocks

Communications Officer

Lizzie joined us as Communications Officer in January 2017. She has a degree in modern languages and…

Tim Thomas image

Tim Thomas

Financial Administrator

Tim has been involved with AEF for over 30 years, initially through his local Kent parish council’s AEF membership…

Executive Council

AEF’s work programme is overseen by an Executive Council that meets every two months and is made up of members elected annually at our AGM. Our council members come from a range of backgrounds – including business, finance, education and the civil service – and play an active part in our day-to-day activities. Council members serve in an advisory capacity and help to ensure that the voice of the membership is taken into account in AEF positions. Many are also active on behalf of other organisations whose views may not necessarily reflect AEF policy.

Currently serving members are:

  • Debbie Bryce
  • Nic Ferriday
  • Geoff Marks
  • Mark Middleton-Smith
  • Richard Roads
  • Hugh Sheppard
  • Tim Thomas
  • Rachael Webb (Chair)


Our work is supported by a number of dedicated, long-term volunteers. In addition, we have occasionally offered placements for short-term student internships, and we have consistently received good feedback from interns about their time with us.

Opportunities to join our team are posted here.