Skip to content

Our Team

FullSizeRender (1)Tim Johnson


Tim has worked with the Federation for over 25 years, having joined in 1989 with a degree majoring in geography and transport planning. Having been responsible initially for planning and research tasks, he became Director in 1997 following the retirement of the AEF’s founder Moyra Logan.

Tim provides AEF’s representation at the UN International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) as well as on the Department for Transport’s External Advisory Group. On behalf of the environmental NGO coalition ICSA (the International Coalition for Sustainable Aviation), Tim plays an active role in ICAO’s Committee on Aviation Environmental Protection where he chairs ICAO’s carbon calculator task force and is co-lead on tasks related to the development of a global market-based measure. Tim previously chaired the advisory panel of the UK industry’s Sustainable Aviation initiative. In 2014, Tim was presented with the Royal Aeronautical Society Green by Design award for his work to move the environmental aviation debate in a very challenging landscape of conflicting interests and social, political, commercial and technical challenges.

Tim spent a year working with Defra on aviation issues, a role that left him with some sympathy for the policy-makers we try to influence today.


Cait HewittCait Hewitt

Deputy Director

With ten years’ experience at AEF, Cait leads the organisation’s UK work programme and campaigns. She has expertise in climate change, noise and air quality issues, particularly in relation to airport expansion and ​airspace change policy.

Cait has given oral evidence to the parliamentary Transport Committee, Environmental Audit Committee and the Civil Aviation Bill Committee, as well as to the Airports Commission and the London Assembly Transport Committee. She has presented at events organised by the Institute for Air Quality Management, the Institute of Civil Engineering, ENDS Europe, and the Westminster Energy Environment and Transport Forum, and has given media interviews on the BBC’s News channel, Ten o’clock News, and Radio 4’s Today Programme.

She has a First Class degree in sociology and an M.A. with Distinction in environmental philosophy, in which her dissertation focussed on the social justice implications of climate change.


Lizzie Harrocks

Communications Officer 

Lizzie joined us as Communications Officer in January 2017. She has a degree in modern foreign languages and volunteered with a range of charities over the course of her degree. She found a particular interest in the impact of globalisation on human health through her work with sustainable development charity, Raleigh International.

Before joining us, Lizzie worked in communications for student listening and information service, Nightline, as well as as copywriter for gender-equality charity, Act4Africa. She uses her experience to manage our external communications and media.


Deborah Lovatt

Community Outreach Manager and Membership Officer

Deborah joined AEF in 2016 in a new role designed both to strengthen our relationship with existing members and to seek the views of communities outside our membership who are affected by aviation. Formerly an Associate Lecturer for the Open University, Deborah has a PhD and a Graduate Diploma in Law. She has extensive experience of working for advice-giving charities, and a strong interest in environmental campaigning and in engaging with the planning system, both as a member of the public, and for environmental charities.

Deborah works with AEF part time, alongside delivery of training for Citizens Advice, including in campaigning skills.


tim thomasTim Thomas

Office and Financial Administrator

Tim has been involved with AEF for over 30 years, initially through his local Kent parish council’s AEF membership, following its involvement in a General Aviation airfield planning appeal. He was elected to the AEF executive council in the 1990s, serving as Treasurer (a position he still holds today), and he has since supported AEF on a part-time, voluntary basis in a number of roles, including providing support and advice for members on General Aviation issues.

Linked to his role as Treasurer, Tim now acts as AEF’s Office and Financial Administrator. He also represents AEF at the CAA’s National Air Traffic Management Committee.


Executive Council

AEF’s work is overseen by an Executive Council that meets every two months and is made up of AEF members elected annually at our AGM.  Our council members come from a range of backgrounds – including business, finance, education and the civil service – and play an active part in our day-to-day activities. Council members serve in an advisory capacity and help to ensure that the voice of the membership is taken into account in AEF positions. At the same time, many Council members are also active on behalf of other organisations whose views may not necessarily reflect AEF policy.

Currently serving members are:

  • Debbie Bryce
  • Nic Ferriday
  • Geoff Marks
  • Mark Middleton-Smith
  • Richard Roads (chair)
  • Max Rosenberg
  • Hugh Sheppard
  • Tim Thomas
  • Rachael Webb